Green clothes?

A week ago on Thursday I got this women’s magazine in to my hands and for a long time I had time to read it. At the end of this magazine there was a picture of the finnish actress named Maria Sid. She said that she is taking part of campaign named Ekopaasto. I googled Ekopaasto and read their pages. Ekopaasto is campaign for all of us who want to think and maybe change their shopping behavior and comsumption. Campaign also challenge Finnish people to decrease our carbon footprint.

So this woke me up and I knew I have to do something for this campaign.  I had a mission to clean my wardrobes because they were so full and messy. As I was cleaning I found lot of clothes that I haven’t used for a long time. Some of them was used only once or twice. I started to think that why have I even bought these clothes? I realised that I have only two options: Either I keep these clothes and start to use them or I recycle them.

I desided to do three different piles: Flea market, charity and second upportunity.

As I was doing this decision for each cloth I though a lot of my shopping behavior which is far from ecological. I shop clothes because they look nice and don’t cost so much. I don’t think where or who has made it or what is the fabric. For me the price of the garment matters most. I think price is the key for most of us. There is one thing I think about when I’m buing new clothes. Clothes has to be machine washable. If it says handwash only I just know that I’m not going to use this particular garment.

We all know that we should buy ecological friedly clothes. But who says that cloth is ecological? For examble If I buy garment of good quality and which is long-lasting and correctable, but I use it only once or twice, is it really ecological?  If you compare that to a garment  which is inexpensive and not so good quality but the separation is that you use it until the end and then through it away. Which one of these is more ecological?

As you can see, it isn’t easy to make these ecological shopping decisions. Usually we don’t even know enough about garments ecological influences. We have this saying that if you are poore, you can’t buy things that are inexpensive. That means you have to buy things that last long and are timeless. It is common that price and quality goes hand by hand but not always.

Like this campaign says, also little things matter when it comes to changing our habits. I believe we all find our ways to change things. What is your way?

You will find more information about Ekopaasto-campaign at www.ekopaasto.fi

Sourses:

ekopaasto.fi

http://www.vihreatvaatteet.com/mika-tekee-vaatteesta-vihrean/

This entry was posted in Ecology. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Green clothes?

  1. raisavarsta says:

    Excellent point! It is really hard to figure out the whole ecological footprint of a product. In order to do that you should analyse the whole life cycle, starting from the production of materials and ending to the final (re)use of the material. And I do agree with you, a product that is used only once or twice is not very ecological, no matter how it is produced.

    Have to re-think this. I’ll start by cleaning my wardrope…

  2. satuspenttinen says:

    I definitely should take part on this Ekopaasto-campaign! While doing our shoppings we all should every once in a while to stop and ask yourselfs “Do I REALLY need this?”

  3. riiamarika says:

    This is a very dear topic to me as I´m trying to change my own shopping habits to more ecological ones as we speak. Little by little. One question I have been struggling with is that is ecological choice also automatically an ethical choice. Who can guarantee that the ecological clothes haven´t been made by kids or people in very poor conditions. The conclusion I´ve made is that the most ecological choice is to buy second hand, recycle the old and do it your self. Thank god for the vintage and DIY trend 🙂

    BTW the webpage http://www.vihreatvaatteet.com has also a list of web shops where you can actually buy ecological and ethical clothes. Check it out!

    • metsapeiju says:

      Thanks for this website! I’ve been following stores and webstores open around etchical and ecological point of view for years, but never found this link. Personally I totally share your opinion of recycling and I’m happy to notice how second hand stores has started to invest in style. For example Red Cross Kontti-chain has several stores with great looks.

  4. katripaulamaki says:

    I agree with you about cleaning wardrobes once in a while. That’s what I have been doing every other year. In case I have not used some clothes within two years, I either recycle them or throw away. And clothes of good quality and long-lasting, they too become shabby and colours fade with time.

  5. leeanylander says:

    I already cleaned my wordobe after reading your blog! What is the reason that the celebirties have to open our eys before we respond? I think recycling is growing very fast among younger people. Younger people are more aware of the ecological matters, so spread this information to everybody!

  6. johannakuisti says:

    Ecological consumption has become quite important to me with kids. I don’t buy clothes to myself often, but I have to buy them to my kids, because they grow so fast. I usually buy good quality and if the clothes are kept in good condition I sell them on the internet. I have also took some clothes to our kindergarten. Nowadays I can’t even imagine that I what just throw away clothes. Recycle always when you can!

  7. makelam says:

    Why do you have to always buy new clothes? Instead of buying you can borrow them from your friends or ‘clothes libraries’. I found this interesting idea in the Vihreatvaatteet.com-site. There is stores in Helsinki, Tampere and Järvenpää. Maybe next time I visit in Helsinki, I drop in Vaatelainaamo.

Leave a Reply

