Develop to a brand

How my story began…

It was 2010, I was 15 years old and my beautician asked me to help her to paint children’s faces on children’s day in front of our primary school. As I love children and make-up, I agreed. After painting uncountable amounts of faces in 5 hours on a very warm summer day, we were counting our tip boxes. I could not believe that there were almost 200€ in my box and noticeably less in my beauticians one. That time, I did not know why there was such a huge difference. Later on the city fest people came to me and were saying: „You looked so relaxed, even though there were so many kids waiting and you painted without any breaks!“ They also started to asked about my make-up and hair that day and if I also do adults’ make-ups.
I was just doing that on family and friends and I was not thinking about being a professional Visagist that time.
Today, I am a professional self employed Make-Up & Hair Artist and Photographer. What began as a mini job to finance my studies is almost a full time job back in Germany.

In this blogpost, I would like to share my experience with you, how you can develop yourself as a brand and how you can build strong customer trust.

For me, finding a suitable market gap and being authentic are the most important parts.
When I started, there were a lot of beauticians, hairdressers and photographers in my city. But the difference is, that I have been offering all those 3 services in one person.
People like it simple and time-effective.

Also, people like to be connected with you and share their experience with others, so I started my Facebook and Instagram page last year. My clients can share their photos from my page with others and can give my service a rating, which brings new clients to me.
It is easy to be connected via social media and you can reach so many people!

The last advice I would like to share with you in this post is, that you always need to be up to date and find something new.
My last recent offer for my clients are beauty evenings.
Simple, but effective. I do not know a single women who does not like it to have a great evening with beauty-stuff and champagne at home with her best friends. So I will come to teach them several things about make-up for around 2-3 hours.

And at the end of the evening, they would love to buy some of the make-up equipment they used during the workshop, because they could feel and see the difference.
Nothing sells better than emotional connections!

Here you can see some photos of my last shootings:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Here you can find my current offers on my website: www.cgodaubeauty.wordpress.com
(Unfortunately everything is in German, but I would be happy to answer any of your questions in the comments)

And here are the links to my Facebook and Instagram pages: https://www.facebook.com/celine.godau
Celine_Godau_Makeupartist
(I am opperating on these pages in German and English)
Let me know, whenever you have any questions. I am happy to answer them!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Develop to a brand

  1. adieckho says:

    I find your post particularly interesting because how often do you get to know someone who has their own company and, on top of that, a brand that they themselves embody? Of course, it’s easier for your clients to trust in your brand because you ARE the brand. Hence, it is easier for people to trust in your services. I liked how you explained the things that are important in building your own brand. It’s especially helpful that you bolded the relevant buzzwords, so it’s really easy to follow your logic.

  2. kialahti says:

    You have branded yourself good! It is important to be yourself and easy to approach. You did great, even though you were so young when you started. My personal opinion is, that young people are more up to date, they can adapt to changes more quickly and invent new things as side product. Ps. I like your photos 🙂

  3. juliashepek says:

    Hi Celine, very interesting post and congratulations on all of your success as an entrepreneur. I think you made a great point about finding a gap in the market and taking advantage of it. I have found in Canada as well, especially in recent years, there are tons of freelance make-up artists. However, if a potential customer wants make-up, hair, and photography it can be quite a lot of work to try and organize all the different professionals they need for each. It can also get expensive to pay all three separately. By offering all three services yourself, you are simplifying the experience and making it much easier for the customer. Great job!

  4. jonitapio says:

    It was very interesting to read a post from your point of view because you have started your own business! I think everyone wishes that they could do the same. Do you think that you are the most important part of your brand? Because I certainly feel like that because I don’t know could you start your own business if you are not nice and easy-going person. At least at the very beginning of your business and building your brand, you played the most important part in that. For example, you can be very talented photographer, but your business will not last long if you are not nice person. Hope you understand what I mean.

    • Thank you 🙂
      I think it is important in every kind of service, where you work with people, that you have a good connection to them.
      In my point of view it is the service that I am providing + me as a person what makes the brand strong.

  5. Anni E. says:

    Nice and interesting post, Celine! I like the simple way in which you presented the brand building blocks and explained how you have utilized and benefitted from those. Authenticity is key for personal branding, so it’s great that you have managed to create a business and a brand out of something you clearly love doing and are good at. I also think it’s good and very important that your FB page is both in German and English.

    Ps. Have you found it hard to upkeep your social channels now that you are located abroad and maybe aren’t working that much? Do you maybe reuse old content or simply post less? I feel that nowadays people demand a certain amount of continuity and high quality from any brand’s online communications, so it would be interesting to hear how you have tackled this issue.

    Gut gemacht!

  6. Celine Godau says:

    Thank you for your comment. At the moment I post less and reuse some older content.
    It definitely helps to keep in touch with your clients and post on Social Media time by time.

Leave a Reply

